World Book Day 2019: Our Recommended Reads for February

Date
Category
Reading Lists
Author
Mentor Education

World Book Day, which takes place on 7th March 2019, is less than two weeks away. Whatever your age, it’s the perfect time to sit down and savour a good book.

World Book Day is a registered charity, and represents the largest global effort to provide every young person in the world with a book of their own. Look out for our next blog on World Book Day, which we’ll release nearer the time, in which we’ll discuss the £1 books that are on offer for young people – and don’t forget to pick up your book token!

If you can’t wait that long, never fear. Here are our recommended reads for February:

Recommended Reads for February, #1: Charlie Changes into a Chicken

Tipped as the perfect book for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams, Charlie Changes into a Chicken is the first in a new series, and focuses on the adventures of Charlie McGuffin.

Though Charlie seems like an average school boy, he has plenty to worry about: his brother is in hospital, his parents are very anxious, and the school bully has Charlie in his sights. There’s also the slightly more concerning fact that occasionally, without warning, Charlie turns into an animal.

With the school play looming, Charlie needs to figure out a way to get his ‘superpower’ under control – fast!

A hilarious book that cleverly explores stress and the effects it can have on children, and the importance of friendship and self-belief, Charlie Changes into a Chicken is a fantastic debut from author Sam Copeland.

Recommended Reads for February, #2: This Book is Not Rubbish

It’s not often that a non-fiction book makes its way onto our list, but environmental issues are seldom out of the news at present – even for children. Indeed, following the student climate change strikes that occurred earlier this month, it seems more important than ever to educate children on ways to help the environment.

This insightful book explores current issues – from pollution of the oceans to overflowing landfill sites – and discusses what we can do to help. Broken down into an easy-to-read format, with each chapter lasting just a few pages, the concepts are both helpful and accessible for young people. From simple changes (like not flushing the toilet every time) to switching to green energy, there are lots of great habits for children to adopt and valuable lessons to be learned.

Recommended Reads for February, #3: Diary of Greg Heffley’s Best Friend

This short story is being released especially for World Book Day, and offers readers the chance to get a sneak peek of Jeff Kinney’s next full instalment in the hugely popular Diary of Wimpy Kid series, Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid (which will be published in April 2019).

Written from the point of view of Rowley, Greg Heffley’s long-suffering best friend, this addition to Kinney’s much-loved series brings all the warmth and hilarity children have come to expect but from the perspective of a new narrator. Rowley isn’t the best biographer, however – of either himself or Greg – and as such readers can expect plenty of mishaps and mirth! Kinney’s combination of heartfelt storytelling and eye-catching illustrations provide the perfect mix for even the most reluctant of readers. A great confidence building tool for younger bookworms.

Recommended Reads for February, #4: On the Come Up

Hot on the heels of the acclaimed The Hate U Give – which won a host of awards including the 2018 Waterstones Children’s Book Prize – Angie Thomas returns with her second novel, which critics have deemed ‘equally unmissable’.

On the Come Up tells the story of Bri, a sixteen-year-old living in a problematic American neighbourhood. Her mum is a former drug addict; her father, an underground hip-hop legend, was murdered; and at school Bri has been written off as ‘trouble’.

Bri’s family are facing eviction and she regularly comes home to an empty fridge. She has plenty to say about the terrible things she has seen and the hardships she has had to endure in her short life. An aspiring rapper, her first record is filled with anger and references to violence; and when it goes viral, she becomes famous for all the wrong reasons. Soon, Bri is torn between her desperate desire to succeed and the need to stay true to her roots.

A compelling story that explores the importance of friends, family, and identity, and fighting for your dreams against all the odds, On the Come Up will prove an inspiring read for teenagers and adults alike.

 

Back to news